The Discover Luxembourg (by foot) concept was initiated in 2008 as an annual one-day event in collaboration with the Ville de Luxembourg and the Luxembourg City Tourist Office (LCTO). Up to 100 teams of four follow directions in EN / FR and cover either a Family Route (5-6 km) or Corporate Route (8-10 km) to discover different aspects of Luxembourg city: culture, history, technology and gastronomy. Along the course the teams compete in challenges to win points, with prizes for the winning teams.

In 2014, the concept was evolved to a Discover Luxembourg (by car) with teams driving electric vehicles for circa 75km across Luxembourg (country) and competing is similar challenges…

For the Discover Luxembourg (by foot) event, participants are encouraged to wear appropriate footwear and bring protection against the elements (umbrellas / raincoats / sun cream…). The Family Route is appropriate for families with buggies / strollers / push-chairs as it usually have no (or very few) steps to climb. The Corporate Route is longer (8-10km) than the 5-6km Family Route.

The event promotes local charity organisations with between €1k – €2k annually: Croix Rouge (2008), Luxembourg Air Rescue (2009), the Alzheimer’s Association (2010), Special Olympics Luxembourg (2011), SOS Village d’Enfants (2012), Fondatioun Kriibskrank Kanner (2013). In 2014, Discover Luxembourg supported the World Peace Forum / Schengen Peace Foundation and the OMEGA 90 palliative care centre in 2015 and Stëmm vun der Strooss (2016). In 2017 we are supporting Handicap International.


Event Dates

  • The 2017 Discover Luxembourg (by foot around Luxembourg city) takes place on Saturday 9 September 2017. Click here to register.
  • The date for the next Discover Luxembourg (Electric Car Rally around the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg) will be published when the event is being planned.


Past Winners:

Year Winner
2016 (by foot) Young Internationals
2015 (by foot) The Brady Bunch
2015 (by car) SUSMAR
2014 (by foot) Jaunty Juanjuta
2014 (by car) Futurama
2013 The Carrotts
2012 La Komanda
2011 Walram
2010 Kali
2009 Coco
2008 Villa Belair